← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

York College, CUNY

Jamaica, NY | Ownership not categorized | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length28 months
Class size30 seats
Application deadlineDec 1, 2026
PCE minimum750 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionResident $36,655 · Non-resident $74,385

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termAugust 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2004/03/04
Next ARC-PA review2028/04

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The York College Physician Assistant program seeks to recruit and educate students from diverse surrounding communities to become highly competent, compassionate, and culturally aware providers of excellent medical care to underserved urban areas. Incorporated in our mission is a priority on increasing access to medical professional education for racial and ethnic minorities, financially disadvantaged students, and first-generation college graduates. Our program is committed to providing strong support so that we may also expect high performance from our students. All students successfully completing the program are eligible to sit for the national PA board examination administered by NCCPA and will have completed a didactic and clinical curriculum emphasizing urban medical care.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPANot reported
Reported matriculant overall GPANot reported
Reported matriculant science GPANot reported

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Chemistry (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Statistics 4 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 4 Credit(s)
  • Sociology 4 Credit(s)
  • Behavioral Sciences 4 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyUpon applying to CASPA, you can have up to 3 PA program prerequisite courses pending. Pending courses may include 1 science course or Statistics course, not both, along with one or both behavioral science courses and any other courses for a bachelor's degree.
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineJuly, 31st
Maximum outstanding prerequisites3

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRequired
Healthcare experience hours750
Healthcare experience time limit3 Years
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRequired
Direct patient-care hours750
Direct patient-care time limit3 Years
PA shadowingRequired
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineDec 1, 2026
Reported resident tuition$36,655
Reported non-resident tuition$74,385
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor)
Seat depositYes, $250
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportSpecial admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Holistic Admissions Review, Bonus Points for CUNY, York, and Veterans.

Mission alignment

The York College Physician Assistant program seeks to recruit and educate students from diverse surrounding communities to become highly competent, compassionate, and culturally aware providers of excellent medical care to underserved urban areas. Incorporated in our mission is a priority on increasing access to medical professional education for racial and ethnic minorities, financially disadvantaged students, and first-generation college graduates. Our program is committed to providing strong support so that we may also expect high performance from our students. All students successfully completing the program are eligible to sit for the national PA board examination administered by NCCPA and will have completed a didactic and clinical curriculum emphasizing urban medical care.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • At least 750 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
  • No more than 3 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: No · Panel Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Panel InterviewPractice maintaining eye contact across a panel, answering the person who asked, and keeping examples concise enough for follow-up questions.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2004/03/04. Next review: 2028/04.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated January 28th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history