Westfield State University
Westfield, MA | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | January 2027 |
| Review model | Regular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 2017/09/09 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2032/04 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The Westfield State University Physician Assistant Program seeks to educate physician assistant students from a variety of backgrounds and experiences to be compassionate, culturally aware healthcare providers who are prepared to practice in a patient centered team.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.00 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.71 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.67 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Genetics 3 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Online labs only allowed if the course was taken in 2020 and 2021 during COVID-19 |
| Course recency | 10 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | Not reported |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | Not reported |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 500 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 500 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Not Required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | Yes |
| Supplemental deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Supplemental fee | $50 |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | No restrictions |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,000 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website. |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Veteran scholarships, clinical partnerships with veteran organizations, special admission consideration, veteran faculty, Yellow Ribbon program participation, and SOC membership. |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Mission alignment
The Westfield State University Physician Assistant Program seeks to educate physician assistant students from a variety of backgrounds and experiences to be compassionate, culturally aware healthcare providers who are prepared to practice in a patient centered team.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.71 overall and 3.67 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
- A supplemental application is reported, due Aug 1, 2026.
- An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Panel Interview, Group Interview, Scenario Room).
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Panel Interview · Group Interview · Scenario Room
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
| Panel Interview | Practice maintaining eye contact across a panel, answering the person who asked, and keeping examples concise enough for follow-up questions. |
| Group Interview | Show collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion. |
| Scenario Room | Prepare program-specific examples for service, teamwork, clinical maturity, resilience, and ethical reasoning. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2017/09/09. Next review: 2032/04.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated February 25th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |