← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

West Coast University

Los Angeles, CA | Ownership not categorized | MPA: Master of Physician Assistant

PA program profile · Accreditation-Provisional

Program length24 months
Class size50 seats
Application deadlineNov 1, 2026
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $110,052

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termJanuary 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryDistance or hybrid learning reported
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Provisional
First accredited2022/06/25
Next ARC-PA review2027/01

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The West Coast University Physician Assistant Program - California provides an intentionally immersive learning environment focused on clinical and cultural competence, personal wellness and insight, and ethical responsibility. Through our unique approach to transformational education and student support, we prepare medical professionals to demonstrate competent compassionate person-centric care with respect and equity to all communities served.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.65
Reported matriculant science GPA3.57

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general) 6 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Genetics 3 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyApplicants for the MPA-CA program must complete all prerequisites with a B- or better, and within the last ten years. Courses completed through foreign institutions are not accepted.
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineAt any point prior to matriculation
Maximum outstanding prerequisites10

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceRecommended, but not required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNot reported
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedYes
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineNov 1, 2026
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementOrange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor)
Seat depositYes, $250
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
International applicants acceptedNo
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportNot reported

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Total cumulative GPA Required: 3.0 Biology/Chemistry/Physics (BCP) GPA Required: 3.0 Prerequisite Science Courses Requirement: 3.0

Mission alignment

The West Coast University Physician Assistant Program - California provides an intentionally immersive learning environment focused on clinical and cultural competence, personal wellness and insight, and ethical responsibility. Through our unique approach to transformational education and student support, we prepare medical professionals to demonstrate competent compassionate person-centric care with respect and equity to all communities served.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.65 overall and 3.57 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
  • No more than 10 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: No · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Provisional. First accreditation: 2022/06/25. Next review: 2027/01.

Read the ARC-PA action history. Accreditation-Provisional requires closer review of the official status, effective dates, and any program response before applying.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 10th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history