Weill Cornell Medicine Master of Science in Health Sciences for Physician Assistants Program
New York, NY | Ownership not categorized | MSHS: Master of Science in Health Science
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | August 2027 |
| Review model | Regular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 1975/03/01 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2033/01 |
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.82 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.75 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 3 Credit(s)
- Biology (general) 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Chemistry (general) 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
- English 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Anatomy and Physiology; (This requirement may be fulfilled by a combined “Anatomy & Physiology” course sequence OR a course in Anatomy AND a course in Physiology |
| Course recency | 10 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | June 1, 2027 |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 1 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 500 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | No numeric minimum reported |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | Yes |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | Yes |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Blue-Submit only: the applicant must only submit the application by your posted deadline. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 2 |
| Reference types | PA; Physician; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor) |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,500 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes |
| On-campus housing | No |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.82 overall and 3.75 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
- No more than 1 prerequisite course may remain outstanding.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1975/03/01. Next review: 2033/01.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated February 26th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |