← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

San Antonio, TX | Public | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length30 months
Class size60 seats
Application deadlineSep 1, 2026
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionResident $42,344 · Non-resident $100,421

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termMay 2027
Review modelRegular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingGraduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT; Test of English Foreign Language (TOEFL)
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accreditedNot reported
Next ARC-PA reviewNot reported

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The mission of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is to make lives better by educating and preparing compassionate, competent, and adaptable physician assistants (PAs) who provide high-quality, patient-centered care across a broad range of clinical settings. Through excellence in education, clinical training, service, scholarship, and research, the program seeks to improve health outcomes, advance evidence-based practice, and serve the health care needs of San Antonio, South Texas, and beyond.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.7
Reported matriculant science GPA3.65

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general) 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Genetics 3 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyNot reported
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineNot reported
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceRecommended, but not required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedYes
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineSep 1, 2026
Reported resident tuition$42,344
Reported non-resident tuition$100,421
Deadline status requirementOrange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineSep 1, 2026
Supplemental fee$75
Reference letters2
Reference typesNo restrictions
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportSpecial admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Enhancing Factors: Overall GPA 3.5, overall science GPA 3.5, hours of community service, hours of health care experience, hours of PA shadowing, military service. While enhancing individually or in combination, still does not guarantee acceptance.

Mission alignment

The mission of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is to make lives better by educating and preparing compassionate, competent, and adaptable physician assistants (PAs) who provide high-quality, patient-centered care across a broad range of clinical settings. Through excellence in education, clinical training, service, scholarship, and research, the program seeks to improve health outcomes, advance evidence-based practice, and serve the health care needs of San Antonio, South Texas, and beyond.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.7 overall and 3.65 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Sep 1, 2026.
  • An interview is required (Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: Not reported. Next review: Not reported.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 16th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history