← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

University of Utah

Salt Lake City, UT | Public | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length27 months
Class size68 seats
Application deadlineAug 1, 2026
PCE minimum2,000 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionResident $87,370 · Non-resident $108,925

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termMay 2027
Review modelRegular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accreditedNot reported
Next ARC-PA reviewNot reported

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

To improve the quality of health and access to care, with a commitment to the medically underserved, by educating students to become highly proficient, socially conscious, and accountable physician assistants (PAs) in the primary care model.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPANot reported
Reported matriculant overall GPANot reported
Reported matriculant science GPANot reported

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general) 4 Credit(s)
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s)
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyFour semester credits any biology with relevance to humans. Eight semester credits any chemistry, Four semester credits human anatomy must include lab. Four semester credits human physiology. Labs can be included within total credits required.
Course recency7 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineNot reported
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRequired
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hours2000
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hours2,000
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedYes
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineAug 1, 2026
Reported resident tuition$87,370
Reported non-resident tuition$108,925
Deadline status requirementBlue-Submit only: the applicant must only submit the application by your posted deadline.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesNo restrictions
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingYes
Veteran supportVeteran scholarships, special admission consideration, veteran faculty, and Yellow Ribbon program participation.

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Holistic review.

Mission alignment

To improve the quality of health and access to care, with a commitment to the medically underserved, by educating students to become highly proficient, socially conscious, and accountable physician assistants (PAs) in the primary care model.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • At least 2,000 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 7 Years.
  • An interview is required (Traditional Interview).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: Not reported. Next review: Not reported.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated January 14th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history