University of South Florida
Tampa, FL | Ownership not categorized | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | May 2027 |
| Review model | Regular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 2016/09/08 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2031/04 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
To provide a scholarly environment in which students from various backgrounds acquire requisite knowledge and skills to deliver high-quality, compassionate, culturally, and socially sensitive healthcare as part of an interprofessional healthcare team.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | Not reported |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biochemistry 4 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Organic Chemistry 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Medical Terminology 1 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Organic Chemistry II OR Biochemistry – 1 Semester (or semester hour equivalent) Chemistry laboratory can be taken with either Organic Chemistry I, Organic Chemistry II or Biochemistry. Laboratories may be part of main course or taken separately |
| Course recency | No Requirement |
| Outstanding-course deadline | December |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | Not reported |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 500 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 500 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Not Required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | Yes |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Sep 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | $59,000 |
| Reported non-resident tuition | $121,800 |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | Employee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor) |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $200 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | No |
| International applicants accepted | No |
| On-campus housing | No |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
Holistic Admissions Review
Mission alignment
To provide a scholarly environment in which students from various backgrounds acquire requisite knowledge and skills to deliver high-quality, compassionate, culturally, and socially sensitive healthcare as part of an interprofessional healthcare team.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
- International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.
- DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: No ·
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Prepare program-specific examples for service, teamwork, clinical maturity, resilience, and ethical reasoning. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2016/09/08. Next review: 2031/04.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated January 26th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |