← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC | Ownership not categorized | MHS: Master of Health Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length24 months
Class size20 seats
Application deadlineAug 1, 2026
PCE minimum1,000 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionResident $62,142 · Non-resident $109,034

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termJanuary 2027
Review modelRegular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2015/09/11
Next ARC-PA review2030/04

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

To promote high-quality, accessible, patient-centered health care for the people of North Carolina and the nation through excellence in education, scholarship, and clinical service. The UNC PA program is committed to the health care and workforce needs of North Carolinians and will use an inter-professional approach to prepare skilled and compassionate health care practitioners across the continuum of life.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPANot reported
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.20
Reported matriculant overall GPANot reported
Reported matriculant science GPANot reported

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 3 Credit(s)
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
  • Sociology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyNot reported
Course recencyNo Requirement
Outstanding-course deadlineNot reported
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hours1000
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hours1,000
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineAug 1, 2026
Reported resident tuition$62,142
Reported non-resident tuition$109,034
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineAug 1, 2026
Supplemental fee$95
Reference letters3
Reference typesPA; Other health care provider
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredNo
International applicants acceptedYes
On-campus housingYes
Veteran supportVeteran scholarships: Scholarship or financial assistance like reduced or in-state tuition offered).;Clinical partnerships: Partnerships with veteran organizations for rotations.;Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Last 60 credits, Holistic admissions process, Mission concordance

Mission alignment

To promote high-quality, accessible, patient-centered health care for the people of North Carolina and the nation through excellence in education, scholarship, and clinical service. The UNC PA program is committed to the health care and workforce needs of North Carolinians and will use an inter-professional approach to prepare skilled and compassionate health care practitioners across the continuum of life.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • At least 1,000 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Aug 1, 2026.
  • An interview is required (Group Interview, Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).
  • DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Group Interview · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Group InterviewShow collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion.
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2015/09/11. Next review: 2030/04.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 9th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history