← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

University of Mount Saint Vincent

Bronx, NY | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Probation

Program length28 months
Class size55 seats
Application deadlineApr 1, 2027
PCE minimum200 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $118,300

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termSeptember 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Probation
First accredited2022/03/05
Next ARC-PA review2027/04

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The Mission of the College of Mount Saint Vincent’s Master of Physician Assistant Program is to prepare and mentor students to deliver high-quality primary and specialty healthcare that is affordable, compassionate, and accessible in collaboration with physicians and other members of the interprofessional health care team. The program accomplishes this mission by building upon and prioritizing the Graduate Core Competencies of the physician assistant profession. The curriculum design places emphasis on preparing students to practice within diverse and culturally sensitive communities while also developing the critical thinking skills vital in today’s expanding healthcare environment.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPANot reported
Reported matriculant science GPANot reported

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Math (pre-calculus/cal)3 Credit(s)
  • Inorganic Chemistry 6 Credit(s), Lab Required
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyNot reported
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineAt any point prior to matriculation
Maximum outstanding prerequisites1

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceNo, not required
Paid healthcare experienceRequired
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careRequired
Direct patient-care hours200
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingNot Required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineApr 1, 2027
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesPA
Seat depositYes, $1,500
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingYes
Veteran supportNot reported

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The Mission of the College of Mount Saint Vincent’s Master of Physician Assistant Program is to prepare and mentor students to deliver high-quality primary and specialty healthcare that is affordable, compassionate, and accessible in collaboration with physicians and other members of the interprofessional health care team. The program accomplishes this mission by building upon and prioritizing the Graduate Core Competencies of the physician assistant profession. The curriculum design places emphasis on preparing students to practice within diverse and culturally sensitive communities while also developing the critical thinking skills vital in today’s expanding healthcare environment.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • At least 200 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
  • No more than 1 prerequisite course may remain outstanding.
  • An interview is required (Traditional Interview).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Probation. First accreditation: 2022/03/05. Next review: 2027/04.

Read the ARC-PA action history. Accreditation-Probation requires closer review of the official status, effective dates, and any program response before applying.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated January 14th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history