← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Princess Anne, MD | Ownership not categorized | MMS/MMSc: Master of Medical Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length28 months
Class size30 seats
Application deadlineNov 1, 2026
PCE minimum500 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $131,320

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termAugust 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2020/03/07
Next ARC-PA review2035/04

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The Physician Assistant Program at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore is dedicated to ensuring equal opportunities for all students, with an emphasis on supporting those from diverse backgrounds. Our mission is to empower students to deliver compassionate and competent care to patients in underserved and diverse communities locally, nationally, and globally.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPANot reported
Minimum prerequisite GPA2.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.5
Reported matriculant science GPA3

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Medical Terminology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyNot reported
Course recency6 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineby January 15 after CASPA verification
Maximum outstanding prerequisites2

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRequired
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hours500
Healthcare experience time limitNot reported
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hours500
Direct patient-care time limitNot reported
PA shadowingRequired
Physician shadowingRequired
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineNov 1, 2026
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineDec 1, 2019
Supplemental fee$50
Reference letters3
Reference typesPA
Seat depositYes, $1,498
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes
On-campus housingYes
Veteran supportSpecial admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The Physician Assistant Program at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore is dedicated to ensuring equal opportunities for all students, with an emphasis on supporting those from diverse backgrounds. Our mission is to empower students to deliver compassionate and competent care to patients in underserved and diverse communities locally, nationally, and globally.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.5 overall and 3 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 6 Years.
  • No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Dec 1, 2019.
  • An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Group Interview).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Group Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.
Group InterviewShow collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2020/03/07. Next review: 2035/04.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated May 13th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history