University of Maryland Baltimore
Baltimore, MD | Ownership not categorized | Other Master’s degree, please specify, Master of Health Science with a PA Concentration
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | May 2027 |
| Review model | Regular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed |
| Delivery | Distance or hybrid learning reported |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | Test of English Foreign Language (TOEFL) |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 1996/10/01 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2029/10 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The University of Maryland Baltimore Physician Assistant Program develops compassionate, professional primary care physician assistants through high-quality education rooted in clinical excellence, ethical practice, health equity, social responsibility, and lifelong learning.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.00 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.75 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.69 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Chemistry (general) 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Medical Terminology 3 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | All science pre-requisites require a lab. Anatomy & Physiology 1 and 2 are acceptable or Anatomy and Physiology separately. Only A&P have a 7-year time limit. Online coursework can be accepted if completed at an accredited institution. |
| Course recency | 7 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | Not reported |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | Not reported |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Recommended, but not required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Not Required |
| Healthcare experience hours | Not reported |
| Healthcare experience time limit | Not reported |
| Paid direct patient care | Required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Not Required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 1,000 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | Not reported |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Not Required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Sep 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | $93,525 |
| Reported non-resident tuition | $119,161 |
| Deadline status requirement | Orange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline. |
| Supplemental application | Yes |
| Supplemental deadline | 10 business days after the application has been processed. |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | No restrictions |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,500 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website. |
| On-campus housing | No |
| Veteran support | Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans. |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
GPA calculations are manually updated to include any coursework completed internationally according to official foreign evaluations if applicable.
Mission alignment
The University of Maryland Baltimore Physician Assistant Program develops compassionate, professional primary care physician assistants through high-quality education rooted in clinical excellence, ethical practice, health equity, social responsibility, and lifelong learning.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.75 overall and 3.69 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- At least 1,000 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 7 Years.
- A supplemental application is reported, due 10 business days after the application has been processed..
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: No · Traditional Interview · Panel Interview · Group Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
| Panel Interview | Practice maintaining eye contact across a panel, answering the person who asked, and keeping examples concise enough for follow-up questions. |
| Group Interview | Show collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1996/10/01. Next review: 2029/10.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated March 3rd, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |