← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

University of Lynchburg

Lynchburg, VA | Ownership not categorized | MPA: Master of Physician Assistant

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length27 months
Class size40 seats
Application deadlineJan 15, 2027
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $102,760

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termMay 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingGraduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will accept MCAT
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2015/03/06
Next ARC-PA review2029/01

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The mission of the University of Lynchburg School of PA Medicine is to educate PAs to become compassionate health care providers with an emphasis on teamwork, communication, human diversity and patient-centered care.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.79
Reported matriculant science GPA3.65

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Genetics 3 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
  • Social Science 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyNot reported
Course recencyNo Requirement
Outstanding-course deadlineAt any point prior to matriculation
Maximum outstanding prerequisites3

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hours500
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRequired
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineJan 15, 2027
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineJan 15, 2023
Supplemental fee$50
Reference letters3
Reference typesPA; Physician; Other health care provider
Seat depositYes, $1,500
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredNo
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingYes
Veteran supportNot reported

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The mission of the University of Lynchburg School of PA Medicine is to educate PAs to become compassionate health care providers with an emphasis on teamwork, communication, human diversity and patient-centered care.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.79 overall and 3.65 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • No more than 3 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Jan 15, 2023.
  • An interview is required (Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).
  • DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2015/03/06. Next review: 2029/01.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 9th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history