University of Florida
Gainesville, FL | Ownership not categorized | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | June 2027 |
| Review model | Regular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 1973/02/01 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2027/10 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The mission of the School of Physician Assistant Studies is to educate students to become physician assistants who will serve the people of Florida and the nation as part of a multidisciplinary healthcare team in a diverse and ever changing healthcare environment.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum science GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.8 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.7 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Chemistry (general) 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s)
- Medical Terminology 1 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Not reported |
| Course recency | Not reported |
| Outstanding-course deadline | by end of fall of application year |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 2 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Not Required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 1000 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | Not reported |
| Paid direct patient care | Required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Not Required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 1,000 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Not Required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Not Required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Not Required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | Yes |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | $55,000 |
| Reported non-resident tuition | $108,000 |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | Yes |
| Supplemental deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Supplemental fee | $30 |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | PA; Physician |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $200 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website. |
| International applicants accepted | No |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Mission alignment
The mission of the School of Physician Assistant Studies is to educate students to become physician assistants who will serve the people of Florida and the nation as part of a multidisciplinary healthcare team in a diverse and ever changing healthcare environment.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.8 overall and 3.7 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- At least 1,000 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
- A supplemental application is reported, due Aug 1, 2026.
- International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: No · Traditional Interview · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
| Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) | Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1973/02/01. Next review: 2027/10.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated January 29th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |