University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA | Ownership not categorized | Other Master’s degree, please specify, MAS-PAS: Master of Advanced Study in Physician Assistant Studies
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | June 2027 |
| Review model | Regular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Provisional |
| First accredited | 2023/09/23 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2027/01 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The University of California San Diego School of Medicine Atkinson Physician Assistant Education Program will recruit and retain learners who reflect the diverse population of California. Graduates will be prepared to provide safe, effective, person-centered healthcare in various settings to improve the health and well-being of the patients and communities we serve.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.79 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.78 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biology (general)12 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Chemistry (general)4 Credit(s)
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Not reported |
| Course recency | No Requirement |
| Outstanding-course deadline | 8/1/26 |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | Not reported |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 500 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | No numeric minimum reported |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | Yes |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | Yes |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Orange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline. |
| Supplemental application | Yes |
| Supplemental deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Supplemental fee | $135 |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | No restrictions |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,000 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website. |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Mission alignment
The University of California San Diego School of Medicine Atkinson Physician Assistant Education Program will recruit and retain learners who reflect the diverse population of California. Graduates will be prepared to provide safe, effective, person-centered healthcare in various settings to improve the health and well-being of the patients and communities we serve.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.79 overall and 3.78 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
- A supplemental application is reported, due Aug 1, 2026.
- An interview is required (Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) | Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Provisional. First accreditation: 2023/09/23. Next review: 2027/01.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated February 26th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |