← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Tufts University

Boston, MA | Ownership not categorized | MMS/MMSc: Master of Medical Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length25 months
Class size50 seats
Application deadlineAug 1, 2026
PCE minimum1,000 hours
Minimum GPANot reported
Reported tuitionTotal $123,091

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termJanuary 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2012/09/08
Next ARC-PA review2036/04

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The mission of the Tufts University School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program is to educate a diverse body of students in a student-centered, inclusive, and collaborative environment. The Tufts PA community will have a positive impact on and meaningfully engage in all aspects of the health care continuum, including disease prevention and management, health promotion and maintenance, and end of life care. As patient advocates, Tufts PA students and faculty will be integral members of the health care team, improving access to care for all populations and across all communities they serve.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPANot reported
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.8
Reported matriculant science GPA3.8

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 3 Credit(s)
  • Biology (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyOnline prerequisites are allowed if taken directly via an accredited institution (prerequisites from third party platforms will not be considered).
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineNot reported
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceNot Required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNot reported
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careNot Required
Direct patient-care hours1,000
Direct patient-care time limit5 Years
PA shadowingNot Required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineAug 1, 2026
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesNo restrictions
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingYes
Veteran supportNot reported

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Please refer to our website for information on specific applicant groups and additional considerations: https://medicine.tufts.edu/admissions-financial-aid/admission-program/physician-assistant

Mission alignment

The mission of the Tufts University School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program is to educate a diverse body of students in a student-centered, inclusive, and collaborative environment. The Tufts PA community will have a positive impact on and meaningfully engage in all aspects of the health care continuum, including disease prevention and management, health promotion and maintenance, and end of life care. As patient advocates, Tufts PA students and faculty will be integral members of the health care team, improving access to care for all populations and across all communities they serve.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.8 overall and 3.8 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • At least 1,000 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: No · Traditional Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2012/09/08. Next review: 2036/04.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated February 25th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history