← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Towson University

Towson, MD | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length24 months
Class size36 seats
Application deadlineAug 1, 2026
PCE minimum500 hours
Minimum GPANot reported
Reported tuitionResident $58,328 · Non-resident $121,844

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termMay 2027
Review modelRegular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited1972/09/01
Next ARC-PA review2033/10

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

Our PA Program educates and empowers resilient graduates to practice collaborative, evidence-based medicine in the ever-changing and diverse health care environment.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPANot reported
Minimum science GPA3.20
Minimum prerequisite GPA2.70
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.55
Reported matriculant science GPA3.53

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Medical Terminology 2 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyAll courses must be completed prior to application submission, have received minimum grade of B- and completed at a regionally accredited college or university. Labs are required for A&P I, A&P II, and Microbiology (Online labs are accepted). AP credit is accepted for Statistics prerequisite.
Course recencyNo Requirement
Outstanding-course deadlineAll prerequisites must be completed prior to the application being submitted. Outstanding prerequisites are not allowed.
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceNot Required
Volunteer healthcare experienceNot Required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careNot Required
Volunteer direct patient careNot Required
Direct patient-care hours500
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingNot Required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineAug 1, 2026
Reported resident tuition$58,328
Reported non-resident tuition$121,844
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineProgram will assign due date upon interview offer.
Supplemental fee$50
Reference letters2
Reference typesAcademic Reference; Employee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider
Seat depositYes, $1,500
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportSpecial admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Preferences: TU alumni, USM alumni, or MD resident; Military service (honorable/ general discharge); First-generation student, low-income or family with public assistance; Bilingual (advanced proficiency); Less than two W's among all science courses. Higher overall science GPA.

Mission alignment

Our PA Program educates and empowers resilient graduates to practice collaborative, evidence-based medicine in the ever-changing and diverse health care environment.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.55 overall and 3.53 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.20.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Program will assign due date upon interview offer..
  • An interview is required (Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1972/09/01. Next review: 2033/10.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated February 20th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history