← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

St. John’s University (formerly SVCMC)

Queens, NY | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length30 months
Class size75 seats
Application deadlineOct 1, 2026
PCE minimum200 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $157,740

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termSeptember 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited1995/10/01
Next ARC-PA review2033/01

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The St. John’s University Physician Assistant program utilizes a student-centered approach to provide learners with the necessary academic, clinical, professional and interpersonal skills to function competently, confidently, compassionately and efficiently as primary care practitioners. Students are sensitized to the diversity of health care needs and the impact of socioeconomic factors on healthcare, to promote non-discrimination and inspire graduates to provide high quality, cost-effective, compassionate and accessible care to underserved patients in urban communities.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPANot reported
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.72
Reported matriculant science GPA3.64

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 7 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 7 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • English 3 Credit(s)
  • Math (pre-calculus/cal)3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyHuman Anatomy & Physiology 1 and 2 with lab – 2 semesters (or 7 credits) All prerequisite course final grades must be "C" or better Higher-level courses with a lab component may satisfy General Biology and/or Chemistry with lab
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineAll transcripts demonstrating proof of completion for spring semester must be received byJuly 1
Maximum outstanding prerequisites3

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceNot Required
Volunteer healthcare experienceNot Required
Healthcare experience hours200
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careRequired
Direct patient-care hours200
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineOct 1, 2026
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor
Seat depositYes, $1,500
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredNo
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingYes
Veteran supportNot reported

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The St. John’s University Physician Assistant program utilizes a student-centered approach to provide learners with the necessary academic, clinical, professional and interpersonal skills to function competently, confidently, compassionately and efficiently as primary care practitioners. Students are sensitized to the diversity of health care needs and the impact of socioeconomic factors on healthcare, to promote non-discrimination and inspire graduates to provide high quality, cost-effective, compassionate and accessible care to underserved patients in urban communities.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.72 overall and 3.64 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • At least 200 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
  • No more than 3 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: No · Traditional Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1995/10/01. Next review: 2033/01.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 5th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history