St. Bonaventure University
St. Bonaventure, NY | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | January 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 2020/03/07 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2035/07 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The mission of the St. Bonaventure University Department of Physician Assistant Studies is to educate physician assistants to become highly skilled and compassionate health care providers. The program will encourage an interdisciplinary approach with an emphasis on patient-centered care and dignity for each individual.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.00 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.5 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.7 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biology (general)3 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Chemistry (general)6 Credit(s)
- Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
- Genetics 3 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
- Humanities 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | A&P I & II or separate anatomy and physiology courses are acceptable for the A&P prerequisites. Whatever courses are used as prerequisites must cover the anatomy and physiology of ALL body systems. |
| Course recency | No Requirement |
| Outstanding-course deadline | At any point prior to matriculation |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 2 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Not Required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 500 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 500 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | Not reported |
| PA shadowing | Not Required |
| Physician shadowing | Not Required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Not Required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Not Required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Sep 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | Yes |
| Supplemental deadline | Sep 1, 2025 |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | PA; Physician |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,000 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
GPA calculations for repeated courses will use the course with the highest grade rather than average the grades of repeated courses.
Mission alignment
The mission of the St. Bonaventure University Department of Physician Assistant Studies is to educate physician assistants to become highly skilled and compassionate health care providers. The program will encourage an interdisciplinary approach with an emphasis on patient-centered care and dignity for each individual.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.5 overall and 3.7 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
- A supplemental application is reported, due Sep 1, 2025.
- An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Group Interview).
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Group Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
| Group Interview | Show collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2020/03/07. Next review: 2035/07.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated January 15th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |