← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Southern California University of Health Sciences

Whittier, CA | Ownership not categorized | MSPA: Master of Science Physician Assistant

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length28 months
Class size50 seats
Application deadlineJan 15, 2027
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.20
Reported tuitionTotal $129,920

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termSeptember 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryDistance or hybrid learning reported
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2016/03/12
Next ARC-PA review2030/10

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

Our program will prepare students to participate in integrative healthcare teams and deliver healthcare with a primary care focus to a diverse population by providing evidence-based instruction.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.20
Minimum science GPANot reported
Minimum prerequisite GPANot reported
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.71
Reported matriculant science GPA3.68

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s)
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s)
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s)
  • Medical Terminology 1 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • English 3 Credit(s)
  • Math (general)2 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
  • Sociology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyScience courses only within 7 years. Online and P/F courses accepted. Multiple chemistry and math courses accepted. Anthropology also fulfills Sociology prerequisite. May use AP or IB credits for some courses. Courses must have grade C or higher.
Course recency7 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineJanuary 15, 2027
Maximum outstanding prerequisites10

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRequired
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hours1000
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedYes
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineJan 15, 2027
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesNo restrictions
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredNo
International applicants acceptedNo
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportYellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Minimum GPA of 3.2 for BCP GPA and a custom “core science prerequisite” GPA (all Chemistry, Microbiology, Human Anatomy, Human Physiology courses taken within 7 years = 2019 to now). Healthcare experience must be 1,000 hours of paid experience, it does not have to be direct.

Mission alignment

Our program will prepare students to participate in integrative healthcare teams and deliver healthcare with a primary care focus to a diverse population by providing evidence-based instruction.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.71 overall and 3.68 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.20; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 7 Years.
  • No more than 10 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.
  • DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: No ·

FormatPreparation focus
Prepare program-specific examples for service, teamwork, clinical maturity, resilience, and ethical reasoning.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2016/03/12. Next review: 2030/10.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 9th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history