← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

South University

Round Rock, TX | Private | MSPA: Master of Science Physician Assistant

PA program profile · Accreditation-Provisional

Program length27 months
Class size40 seats
Application deadlineSep 1, 2026
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $97,704

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termJanuary 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingGraduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT
AccreditationAccreditation-Provisional
First accredited2022/09/24
Next ARC-PA review2027/04

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The mission of the South University Physician Assistant (MSPA) is to educate a diverse student population and prepare graduates to practice the art and science of medicine while providing high-quality, equitable, and inclusive patient-centered healthcare.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPANot reported
Minimum prerequisite GPA2.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.7
Reported matriculant science GPA3.6

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general) 6 Credit(s)
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyThe PA program accepts prerequisite coursework completed in an online, virtual, or on-ground format.
Course recencyNo Requirement
Outstanding-course deadlineNot reported
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceRecommended, but not required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedYes
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineSep 1, 2026
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementOrange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesPA; Physician; Other health care provider
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportVeteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The mission of the South University Physician Assistant (MSPA) is to educate a diverse student population and prepare graduates to practice the art and science of medicine while providing high-quality, equitable, and inclusive patient-centered healthcare.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.7 overall and 3.6 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Panel Interview, Group Interview).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Panel Interview · Group Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.
Panel InterviewPractice maintaining eye contact across a panel, answering the person who asked, and keeping examples concise enough for follow-up questions.
Group InterviewShow collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Provisional. First accreditation: 2022/09/24. Next review: 2027/04.

Read the ARC-PA action history. Accreditation-Provisional requires closer review of the official status, effective dates, and any program response before applying.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated January 15th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history