← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

South College – Orlando

Orlando, FL | Ownership not categorized | MHS: Master of Health Science, MHS: Master of Health Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Provisional

Program length27 months
Class size100 seats
Application deadlineApr 1, 2027
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA2.75
Reported tuitionTotal $110,250

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termOctober 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingPA-CAT; Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT
AccreditationAccreditation-Provisional
First accredited2025/06/28
Next ARC-PA reviewTBD

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The mission of the South College Orlando Master of Health Science in Physician Assistant Studies program is to educate qualified physician assistant students, preparing them to become competent, compassionate healthcare providers who can meet the needs of the communities in which they choose to practice.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA2.75
Minimum science GPA2.75
Minimum prerequisite GPA2.75
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.54
Reported matriculant science GPA3.42

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • English 6 Credit(s)
  • Humanities 3 Credit(s)
  • Math (algebra)6 Credit(s)
  • Social Science 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyAll prerequisites must be completed within 7 years of planned matriculation. Statistics is recommended. Humanities/social sciences may be either/or (psychology recommended). AP credit accepted if transcripted or supported by an official score.
Course recency7 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineAt any point prior to matriculation
Maximum outstanding prerequisites2

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceRecommended, but not required
Paid healthcare experienceNot Required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careNot Required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedYes
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineApr 1, 2027
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental fee$100
Reference letters3
Reference typesPA; Physician
Seat depositYes, $1,500
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedNo
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportSpecial admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The mission of the South College Orlando Master of Health Science in Physician Assistant Studies program is to educate qualified physician assistant students, preparing them to become competent, compassionate healthcare providers who can meet the needs of the communities in which they choose to practice.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.54 overall and 3.42 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 2.75; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 2.75.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 7 Years.
  • No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • A supplemental application is reported.
  • International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: No · Traditional Interview · Panel Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.
Panel InterviewPractice maintaining eye contact across a panel, answering the person who asked, and keeping examples concise enough for follow-up questions.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Provisional. First accreditation: 2025/06/28. Next review: TBD.

Read the ARC-PA action history. Accreditation-Provisional requires closer review of the official status, effective dates, and any program response before applying.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 5th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history