← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Sacred Heart University

Stamford, CT | Ownership not categorized | Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies (MSPAS)

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length27 months
Class size42 seats
Application deadlineSep 1, 2026
PCE minimum1,000 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $106,575

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termAugust 2027
Review modelRegular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2016/03/12
Next ARC-PA review2031/01

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

Our mission is to provide students with engaging experiences that facilitate lifelong learning, enhance diverse perspectives, emphasize primary care and collaborative practice, and foster a spirit of service with a commitment to continuously improve the health of our communities.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPANot reported
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.74
Reported matriculant science GPA3.67

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policy- Any upper-level human biological science course with or without lab (3-4 credits). Consult official program page for acceptable upper-level biological science courses.. - All prerequisite courses must have a final grade of "C" or better - We do not accept pass/fail or online courses
Course recencyNo Requirement
Outstanding-course deadlineNot reported
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceNot Required
Volunteer healthcare experienceNot Required
Healthcare experience hours1000
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careNot Required
Direct patient-care hours1,000
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingNot Required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineSep 1, 2026
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor)
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredNo
International applicants acceptedNo
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportYellow Ribbon Schools program participant; Special admission consideration for military veterans.

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Holistic application review process

Mission alignment

Our mission is to provide students with engaging experiences that facilitate lifelong learning, enhance diverse perspectives, emphasize primary care and collaborative practice, and foster a spirit of service with a commitment to continuously improve the health of our communities.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.74 overall and 3.67 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • At least 1,000 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.
  • DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: No · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2016/03/12. Next review: 2031/01.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated April 20th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history