Rutgers University
Piscataway, NJ | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | August 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | Yes |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 1976/03/01 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2027/01 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
Foster excellence in humanistic patient care through dynamic PA education, scholarship, and service in a supportive and collaborative environment. Unique Program Features• The Physician Assistant program was • 100 percent Ultimate Pass Rate on the PANCE from 2019 -2024. • The innovative curriculum delivers small-group learning, simulation, and clinical elective opportunities. • All principal faculty have earned or are currently pursuing doctoral degrees • Students engage with underserved communities through the H.O.P.E. (Health Outreach Patient Experience) Clinic.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.20 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.20 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.58 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.5 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 3 Credit(s)
- Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
- Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
- English 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | We also require 6 credits of additional upper-level biology courses. |
| Course recency | No Requirement |
| Outstanding-course deadline | 06/01 |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 2 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Not Required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Not Required |
| Healthcare experience hours | Not reported |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | No numeric minimum reported |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Required |
| Physician shadowing | Not Required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Not Required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Not Required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | $105,564 |
| Reported non-resident tuition | $158,232 |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | Yes |
| Supplemental deadline | Aug 1, 2025 |
| Supplemental fee | $50 |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | No restrictions |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $700 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
Our program considers the GPA of the last 24 science credits. Additional consideration is given to the following groups: first generation status, economically disadvantaged, and those that speak second languages
Mission alignment
Foster excellence in humanistic patient care through dynamic PA education, scholarship, and service in a supportive and collaborative environment. Unique Program Features• The Physician Assistant program was • 100 percent Ultimate Pass Rate on the PANCE from 2019 -2024. • The innovative curriculum delivers small-group learning, simulation, and clinical elective opportunities. • All principal faculty have earned or are currently pursuing doctoral degrees • Students engage with underserved communities through the H.O.P.E. (Health Outreach Patient Experience) Clinic.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.58 overall and 3.5 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.20; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.20.
- No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
- A supplemental application is reported, due Aug 1, 2025.
- An interview is required (Panel Interview).
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Panel Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Panel Interview | Practice maintaining eye contact across a panel, answering the person who asked, and keeping examples concise enough for follow-up questions. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1976/03/01. Next review: 2027/01.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated June 24th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |