Pfeiffer University
Albemarle, NC | Ownership not categorized | MSPAS: Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | January 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Probation |
| First accredited | 2019/09/28 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2026/10 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
Provide a supportive learning environment for our students, with an emphasis on rural medicine, that graduates physician assistants who are prepared to provide patient-centered healthcare.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.20 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.44 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.55 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Genetics 3 Credit(s)
- Medical Terminology 3 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Not reported |
| Course recency | 7 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | At any point prior to matriculation |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 2 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Recommended, but not required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | Not reported |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 500 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Required |
| Physician shadowing | Not Required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Not Required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Not Required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | Yes |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Dec 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | Employee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor) |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,000 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | No |
| International applicants accepted | No |
| On-campus housing | No |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
Trends U60 GPA of 3.0 (review of last 60 credit hours)
Mission alignment
Provide a supportive learning environment for our students, with an emphasis on rural medicine, that graduates physician assistants who are prepared to provide patient-centered healthcare.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.44 overall and 3.55 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 7 Years.
- No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
- An interview is required (Panel Interview).
- International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.
- DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Panel Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Panel Interview | Practice maintaining eye contact across a panel, answering the person who asked, and keeping examples concise enough for follow-up questions. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Probation. First accreditation: 2019/09/28. Next review: 2026/10.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated February 27th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |