← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

North Carolina A&T State University

Greensboro, NC | Ownership not categorized | MSPA: Master of Science Physician Assistant

PA program profile · Accreditation-Provisional

Program length27 months
Class size22 seats
Application deadlineNov 1, 2026
PCE minimum1,000 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionResident $52,815 · Non-resident $142,415

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termAugust 2027
Review modelRegular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingGraduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT
AccreditationAccreditation-Provisional
First accredited2025/06/28
Next ARC-PA reviewTBD

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The North Carolina A&T Master of Science Physician Assistant Studies program will prepare graduates to improve the health of the community through preeminence in medical education, clinical care, and leadership.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPANot reported
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.29
Reported matriculant science GPA3.18

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general) 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Medical Terminology 3 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
  • Behavioral Sciences 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyCourses must be 3 -credit(semester) or 4.5-credit (quarter) hours in length. Courses must be completed at a regionally accredited institution of higher learning in the United States and within the last 5 years.
Course recency5 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineNot reported
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hours1000
Healthcare experience time limit5 Years
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careNot Required
Direct patient-care hours1,000
Direct patient-care time limit5 Years
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineNov 1, 2026
Reported resident tuition$52,815
Reported non-resident tuition$142,415
Deadline status requirementOrange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineWithin 2 weeks of application screening. The applicant will be notified.
Supplemental fee$60
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor)
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredNo
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportVeteran scholarships: Scholarship or financial assistance like reduced or in-state tuition offered).;Clinical partnerships: Partnerships with veteran organizations for rotations.;Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;a consortium of colleges that recognizes the unique needs of veterans in achieving their educational goals. Many of these institutions offer special benefits;such as tuition reduction or credit for experiential learning.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;SOC member: Institutional participation in the Service members Opportunity Colleges programs;Yellow Ribbon Schools program

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Our review is holistic beyond the minimum GPAs. We consider mission alignment, extraordinary life experiences, leadership experience, NCAT affiliation and a proven track record of service to the underserved.

Mission alignment

The North Carolina A&T Master of Science Physician Assistant Studies program will prepare graduates to improve the health of the community through preeminence in medical education, clinical care, and leadership.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.29 overall and 3.18 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • At least 1,000 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 5 Years.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Within 2 weeks of application screening. The applicant will be notified..
  • DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Provisional. First accreditation: 2025/06/28. Next review: TBD.

Read the ARC-PA action history. Accreditation-Provisional requires closer review of the official status, effective dates, and any program response before applying.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 16th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history