Mount St. Mary's University
Emmitsburg, MD | Ownership not categorized | MMS/MMSc: Master of Medical Science
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | January 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Provisional |
| First accredited | 2025/06/28 |
| Next ARC-PA review | TBD |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The PA program at Mount St. Mary's University cultivates ethical practitioners who care significantly and are dedicated to responsible and equitable health outcomes delivered with compassion, humility, and joy.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 2.67 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.58 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.45 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biology (general) 6 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Chemistry (general)6 Credit(s)
- Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Medical Terminology 1 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Courses may be completed online, however, online labs completed after September 2022 will not be accepted. |
| Course recency | 10 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | Not reported |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | Not reported |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Not Required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Not Required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 400 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | Not reported |
| Paid direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 400 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | Not reported |
| PA shadowing | Not Required |
| Physician shadowing | Not Required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Not Required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Orange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 2 |
| Reference types | Other health care provider |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $900 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | No |
| International applicants accepted | No |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
Mount St. Mary's University PA Program proudly selects its candidates through a holistic admissions review.
Mission alignment
The PA program at Mount St. Mary's University cultivates ethical practitioners who care significantly and are dedicated to responsible and equitable health outcomes delivered with compassion, humility, and joy.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.58 overall and 3.45 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- At least 400 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
- An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).
- International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.
- DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
| Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) | Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Provisional. First accreditation: 2025/06/28. Next review: TBD.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated March 3rd, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |