Methodist University
Fayetteville, NC | Ownership not categorized | MMS/MMSc: Master of Medical Science
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | August 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 1996/04/01 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2027/07 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
To develop competent clinicians within a supportive, engaging, culturally diverse environment which fosters academic and social growth. Our graduates will become integrated into communities striving for excellence in healthcare through compassion, professionalism, and lifelong learning.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.20 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.8 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.8 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biology (general)3 Credit(s)
- Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Medical Terminology 1 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Anatomy and Physiology requirement: A&P I and A&P II w/labs or a combo of 4 sh of Anatomy and 4 sh of Physiology will be accepted. Biology is not limited to a General Biology course and can be any Biology course. Genetics is recommended. |
| Course recency | No Requirement |
| Outstanding-course deadline | At any point prior to matriculation |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 3 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 1000 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 500 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Not Required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Not Required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Not Required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | Yes |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | Yes |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Jan 15, 2027 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | Employee/Supervisor; PA; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor) |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,000 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website. |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
Economically and/or environmentally disadvantaged backgrounds Military affiliation Collegiate Student Athlete Extracurricular/leadership Volunteer exp. (25 hrs+) Honors, post bacc, master's program w/3.0 + (see website) Cape Fear, NC resident
Mission alignment
To develop competent clinicians within a supportive, engaging, culturally diverse environment which fosters academic and social growth. Our graduates will become integrated into communities striving for excellence in healthcare through compassion, professionalism, and lifelong learning.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.8 overall and 3.8 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
- No more than 3 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
- An interview is required (Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) | Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1996/04/01. Next review: 2027/07.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated January 15th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |