← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Medical University of South Carolina

Charleston, SC | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length27 months
Class size97 seats
Application deadlineSep 1, 2026
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionResident $58,038 · Non-resident $106,469

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termMay 2027
Review modelRegular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited1995/10/01
Next ARC-PA review2033/01

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

To graduate highly competent physician assistants who are compassionate, demonstrate cultural humility and are attuned to the primary health care needs of the people of South Carolina and beyond. Graduates will be prepared to: Provide quality, evidence based, patient-centered health care as integral members of interdisciplinary health care teams Advocate for the physician assistant profession Help meet the health care needs of the larger community through education, research and service

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPANot reported
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPANot reported
Reported matriculant science GPANot reported

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general) 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Medical Terminology 1 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyNot reported
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineAt any point prior to matriculation
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceRecommended, but not required
Paid healthcare experienceNot Required
Volunteer healthcare experienceNot Required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNot reported
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingNot Required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedYes
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineSep 1, 2026
Reported resident tuition$58,038
Reported non-resident tuition$106,469
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineSep 1, 2026
Supplemental fee$80
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider
Seat depositYes, $500
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportNot reported

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

To graduate highly competent physician assistants who are compassionate, demonstrate cultural humility and are attuned to the primary health care needs of the people of South Carolina and beyond. Graduates will be prepared to: Provide quality, evidence based, patient-centered health care as integral members of interdisciplinary health care teams Advocate for the physician assistant profession Help meet the health care needs of the larger community through education, research and service

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Sep 1, 2026.
  • An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Group Interview, Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Group Interview · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.
Group InterviewShow collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion.
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1995/10/01. Next review: 2033/01.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated January 22nd, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history