Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University
Norfolk, VA | Ownership not categorized | MPA: Master of Physician Assistant
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | January 2028 |
| Review model | Regular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 1998/10/01 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2026/07 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The mission of the Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University Physician Assistant program is to prepare students to provide healthcare in a broad range of medical settings by training them in the medical arts and sciences in an inclusive, multicultural environment dedicated to the delivery of patient-centered care, while fostering a strong commitment to clinical and community partnerships.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.20 |
| Minimum science GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.6 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.5 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
- Chemistry (general) 3 Credit(s)
- Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Math (general) 3 Credit(s)
- Math (algebra) 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 6 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | All eight (8) prerequisite courses must be completed at an accredited U.S. institution with a B- or better grade by March 1. Anatomy and Physiology must be completed within 5 years of the application deadline, with a min of 4 credits or 6 quarter hrs |
| Course recency | 5 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | March 1st application deadline. |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | Not reported |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Recommended, but not required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | Not reported |
| Healthcare experience time limit | Not reported |
| Paid direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | No numeric minimum reported |
| Direct patient-care time limit | Not reported |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Mar 1, 2027 |
| Reported resident tuition | $96,697 |
| Reported non-resident tuition | $127,390 |
| Deadline status requirement | Orange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 2 |
| Reference types | No restrictions |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $500 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | No |
| International applicants accepted | No |
| On-campus housing | No |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Mission alignment
The mission of the Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University Physician Assistant program is to prepare students to provide healthcare in a broad range of medical settings by training them in the medical arts and sciences in an inclusive, multicultural environment dedicated to the delivery of patient-centered care, while fostering a strong commitment to clinical and community partnerships.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.6 overall and 3.5 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.20; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 5 Years.
- An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Group Interview).
- International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.
- DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Group Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
| Group Interview | Show collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1998/10/01. Next review: 2026/07.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated January 14th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |