Kean University
Union, NJ | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | September 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Probation |
| First accredited | 2021/03/06 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2028/04 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The Kean University Physician Assistant Program prepares clinically competent, compassionate, and reflective physician assistants to practice evidence-based and patient-centered care to diverse communities. Graduates are trained to think critically, practice ethically, and engage in lifelong learning across evolving healthcare environments.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.00 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.3 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.1 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biology (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Medical Terminology 3 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Math (pre-calculus/cal)4 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | All science courses, except Biochemistry, must have a laboratory component; Human Anatomy and Human Physiology may be taken as a combined course, i.e., Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II. All prerequisites must be taken in person except med term. |
| Course recency | 10 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | August 15 |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 2 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Required: 500 direct patient care hours |
| Paid healthcare experience | Required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Required |
| Healthcare experience hours | Not reported |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 500 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | Yes |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Mar 1, 2027 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Orange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline. |
| Supplemental application | Yes |
| Supplemental deadline | Mar 1, 2027 |
| Supplemental fee | $75 |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | PA |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $500 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Mission alignment
The Kean University Physician Assistant Program prepares clinically competent, compassionate, and reflective physician assistants to practice evidence-based and patient-centered care to diverse communities. Graduates are trained to think critically, practice ethically, and engage in lifelong learning across evolving healthcare environments.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.3 overall and 3.1 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
- No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
- A supplemental application is reported, due Mar 1, 2027.
- An interview is required (Traditional Interview).
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Probation. First accreditation: 2021/03/06. Next review: 2028/04.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated March 6th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |