← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

James Madison University

Harrisonburg, VA | Ownership not categorized | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length28 months
Class size36 seats
Application deadlineJun 15, 2026
PCE minimum1,000 hours
Minimum GPANot reported
Reported tuitionResident $81,164 · Non-resident $96,923

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termAugust 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingGRE required; MCAT not accepted; TOEFL for international applicants
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited1999/04/01
Next ARC-PA review2026/10

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

To provide educational opportunities and to foster a culture of wellness for students to develop the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and resiliency necessary to function as primary care physician assistants, serving the medical needs of the Commonwealth of Virginia and society in general including rural and medically underserved areas.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPANot reported
Minimum science GPANot reported
Minimum prerequisite GPANot reported
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.66
Reported matriculant science GPA3.57

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Genetics 3 Credit(s)
  • Medical Terminology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyOnline coursework is acceptable.
Course recency7 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineAt any point prior to matriculation
Maximum outstanding prerequisites6

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceNot Required
Volunteer healthcare experienceNot Required
Healthcare experience hours1000
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careNot Required
Volunteer direct patient careRequired
Direct patient-care hours1,000
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineJun 15, 2026
Reported resident tuition$81,164
Reported non-resident tuition$96,923
Deadline status requirementBlue-Submit only: the applicant must only submit the application by your posted deadline.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineJun 15, 2026
Supplemental fee$60
Reference letters3
Reference typesNo restrictions
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportNot reported

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Holistic Admissions Review

Mission alignment

To provide educational opportunities and to foster a culture of wellness for students to develop the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and resiliency necessary to function as primary care physician assistants, serving the medical needs of the Commonwealth of Virginia and society in general including rural and medically underserved areas.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.66 overall and 3.57 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • At least 1,000 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 7 Years.
  • No more than 6 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Jun 15, 2026.
  • An interview is required (Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1999/04/01. Next review: 2026/10.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 6th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history