← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Howard University

Washington, DC | Ownership not categorized | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies

PA program profile · Accreditation-Provisional

Program length27 months
Class size20 seats
Application deadlineJan 15, 2027
PCE minimum800 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $125,093

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termAugust 2027
Review modelRegular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Provisional
First accredited2023/03/04
Next ARC-PA review2028/04

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The mission of the Howard University Physician Assistant Program is to educate and cultivate compassionate, competent, and culturally diverse physician assistants committed to increasing access to health care in medically underserved communities. The program will provide an exceptional educational opportunity and experience for professional and ethical students of high academic potential, with an emphasis on Black students and other underrepresented minorities in medicine. The program faculty is dedicated to preparing, empowering, and training healthcare professionals who are inclusive in their delivery of care to meet the needs and improve healthcare disparities in diverse populations.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.73
Reported matriculant science GPA3.7

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Medical Terminology 2 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
  • Sociology 3 Credit(s)
  • Social Science 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyWe recommend Human Anatomy and Physiology w/labs are completed within 3 years of matriculation. An alternate course sequence:Human Anatomy w/lab and Human Physiology w/lab. Also, Organic Chemistry w/lab or Biochemistry w/lab is required but not both.
Course recency7 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineAugust 1
Maximum outstanding prerequisites2

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceRecommended, but not required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careRequired
Direct patient-care hours800
Direct patient-care time limit7 Years
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineJan 15, 2027
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor)
Seat depositYes, $700
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportClinical partnerships: Partnerships with veteran organizations for rotations.;Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The mission of the Howard University Physician Assistant Program is to educate and cultivate compassionate, competent, and culturally diverse physician assistants committed to increasing access to health care in medically underserved communities. The program will provide an exceptional educational opportunity and experience for professional and ethical students of high academic potential, with an emphasis on Black students and other underrepresented minorities in medicine. The program faculty is dedicated to preparing, empowering, and training healthcare professionals who are inclusive in their delivery of care to meet the needs and improve healthcare disparities in diverse populations.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.73 overall and 3.7 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • At least 800 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 7 Years.
  • No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Panel Interview, Group Interview).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Panel Interview · Group Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.
Panel InterviewPractice maintaining eye contact across a panel, answering the person who asked, and keeping examples concise enough for follow-up questions.
Group InterviewShow collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Provisional. First accreditation: 2023/03/04. Next review: 2028/04.

Read the ARC-PA action history. Accreditation-Provisional requires closer review of the official status, effective dates, and any program response before applying.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated March 3rd, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history