Hofstra University
Hempstead, NY | Ownership not categorized | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | September 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 2001/12/01 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2027/01 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The Hofstra Northwell Department of Physician Assistant Studies’ mission is to create an interprofessional environment that fosters PA leaders and scholars who deliver empathetic, patient-centered care, and promote inclusivity to the diverse populations they serve.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.30 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.30 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.6 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.6 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s)
- Biology (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s)
- Chemistry (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s)
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s)
- Genetics 3 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
- Inorganic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Anatomy, physiology, microbiology, and biochemistry or organic chemistry must be taken within 5 years of program start Gen. bio and gen chem. may be waived in circumstances where more advanced biology and chems are taken with B+ or better |
| Course recency | 5 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | August 1st, prior to Matriculating |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 2 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 50 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 50 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 2 |
| Reference types | PA |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,500 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website. |
| International applicants accepted | Yes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website. |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Veteran scholarships: Scholarship or financial assistance like reduced or in-state tuition offered).;Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
Semi-holistic, as GPAs are considered.
Mission alignment
The Hofstra Northwell Department of Physician Assistant Studies’ mission is to create an interprofessional environment that fosters PA leaders and scholars who deliver empathetic, patient-centered care, and promote inclusivity to the diverse populations they serve.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.6 overall and 3.6 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- At least 50 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.30; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.30.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 5 Years.
- No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
- An interview is required (Traditional Interview).
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2001/12/01. Next review: 2027/01.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated March 9th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |