← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

High Point University

High Point, NC | Ownership not categorized | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length27 months
Class size65 seats
Application deadlineOct 1, 2026
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.20
Reported tuitionTotal $134,215

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termJune 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingGraduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2014/09/06
Next ARC-PA review2029/04

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The mission of the High Point University Physician Assistant Studies program is to deliver a student-centered, experiential curriculum grounded in high academic and ethical standards. The program strives to develop compassionate PAs who are self-directed, lifelong learners prepared to provide evidence-based, patient-centered care as members of an interprofessional health care team.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.20
Minimum science GPA3.20
Minimum prerequisite GPANot reported
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.9
Reported matriculant science GPA3.8

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)11 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Medical Terminology 1 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • Humanities 9 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyOnline classes accepted for non-laboratory prerequisites taken from a U.S. university or college that is regionally accredited. (Labs moved to online format due to COVID-19 will be considered on case-by-case basis. Applicants should note this.)
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineEnd of the Fall semester of the year in which you apply.
Maximum outstanding prerequisites1

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRequired
Volunteer healthcare experienceRequired
Healthcare experience hours200
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careRequired
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNot reported
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineOct 1, 2026
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementOrange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesNo restrictions
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingYes
Veteran supportYellow Ribbon Schools program: Institutional participation in a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The mission of the High Point University Physician Assistant Studies program is to deliver a student-centered, experiential curriculum grounded in high academic and ethical standards. The program strives to develop compassionate PAs who are self-directed, lifelong learners prepared to provide evidence-based, patient-centered care as members of an interprofessional health care team.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.9 overall and 3.8 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.20; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.20.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
  • No more than 1 prerequisite course may remain outstanding.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: No · Traditional Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2014/09/06. Next review: 2029/04.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated January 21st, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history