← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Hardin-Simmons University

Abilene, TX | Private | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length27 months
Class size30 seats
Application deadlineSep 1, 2026
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $116,117

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termAugust 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2017/03/09
Next ARC-PA review2032/01

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The Hardin-Simmons University Physician Assistant program is dedicated to academic excellence in medical education. Our mission is to develop and prepare compassionate, professional PA providers who are committed to life-long leadership, learning, and community service. Our graduates will work as part of the healthcare team to deliver exceptional healthcare to rural West Texas and under-served communities worldwide.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPANot reported
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.77
Reported matriculant science GPA3.71

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • English 3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
  • Sociology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyHuman Anatomy & Physiology I & II with lab may be substituted (should be taken at the same institution). +All prerequisites must be earned from a regionally accredited U.S. college or university. Applicants must earn a grade of C or better.
Course recencyNo Requirement
Outstanding-course deadlineAt any point prior to matriculation
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceRecommended, but not required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineSep 1, 2026
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least three evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesNo restrictions
Seat depositYes, $1,200
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportNot reported

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Applications are holistically reviewed. Preference will be given to applicants who have completed at least 250 hours of community service as documented in the volunteer section. HSU students/alumni (meeting min. criteria) will receive an interview.

Mission alignment

The Hardin-Simmons University Physician Assistant program is dedicated to academic excellence in medical education. Our mission is to develop and prepare compassionate, professional PA providers who are committed to life-long leadership, learning, and community service. Our graduates will work as part of the healthcare team to deliver exceptional healthcare to rural West Texas and under-served communities worldwide.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.77 overall and 3.71 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Group Interview).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Group Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.
Group InterviewShow collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2017/03/09. Next review: 2032/01.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated February 26th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history