Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine
Miami, FL | Ownership not categorized | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | August 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 2015/03/06 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2029/01 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine Master in Physician Assistant Studies mission is to train competent and compassionate health care professionals who practice collaboratively, serve their communities, and advance the physician assistant profession.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.00 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | Not reported |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biology (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Genetics 3 Credit(s)
- Medical Terminology 3 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Complete all prerequisite courses with a grade of “C” or higher. Online lecture and lab coursework are acceptable. Prerequisite courses completed through Portage Learning are not accepted. |
| Course recency | 10 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | December of the application cycle |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | Not reported |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 500 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 500 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | Yes |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | Yes |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Jan 15, 2027 |
| Reported resident tuition | $91,172 |
| Reported non-resident tuition | $93,565 |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | Yes |
| Supplemental deadline | Jan 15, 2026 |
| Supplemental fee | $30 |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | No restrictions |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $715 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | No |
| International applicants accepted | No |
| On-campus housing | No |
| Veteran support | Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status. |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Mission alignment
The Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine Master in Physician Assistant Studies mission is to train competent and compassionate health care professionals who practice collaboratively, serve their communities, and advance the physician assistant profession.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
- A supplemental application is reported, due Jan 15, 2026.
- An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Group Interview, Scenario Room).
- International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.
- DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Group Interview · Scenario Room
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
| Group Interview | Show collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion. |
| Scenario Room | Prepare program-specific examples for service, teamwork, clinical maturity, resilience, and ethical reasoning. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2015/03/06. Next review: 2029/01.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated February 17th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |