← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Emory & Henry College

Marion, VA | Ownership not categorized | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length27 months
Class size40 seats
Application deadlineJan 15, 2027
PCE minimum500 hours
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $95,900

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termMay 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingGraduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2017/03/09
Next ARC-PA review2031/10

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

With a primary goal of reducing suffering and empowering our patients to lead more content lives, we focus on faculty, student, and patient satisfaction throughout the PA program. In so doing, it is our goal to assist students in not only developing into stellar, competent, compassionate, and mission-focused PAs but also to become better at “being”. Beyond our stellar experiential activities, conducted throughout all phases of the program, we also implement active learning strategies that are purposive, holistic, reflective, complex, engaging, collaborative, and case-based.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.63
Reported matriculant science GPA3.52

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 4 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Chemistry (general)4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Genetics 3 Credit(s)
  • Medical Terminology 1 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyCandidates do not have to complete both Biochemistry and Organic Chemistry. We require only one of the courses to meet our admissions requirements.
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineAt any point prior to matriculation
Maximum outstanding prerequisites3

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hours500
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hours500
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRequired
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineJan 15, 2027
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementBlue-Submit only: the applicant must only submit the application by your posted deadline.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineDec 1, 2025
Supplemental fee$30
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor)
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportSpecial admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program

Applicant Fit Analysis

Published Admissions Considerations

Our program uses a holistic approach to interviewing candidates.

Mission alignment

With a primary goal of reducing suffering and empowering our patients to lead more content lives, we focus on faculty, student, and patient satisfaction throughout the PA program. In so doing, it is our goal to assist students in not only developing into stellar, competent, compassionate, and mission-focused PAs but also to become better at “being”. Beyond our stellar experiential activities, conducted throughout all phases of the program, we also implement active learning strategies that are purposive, holistic, reflective, complex, engaging, collaborative, and case-based.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.63 overall and 3.52 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • At least 500 direct patient-care hours are reported.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
  • No more than 3 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Dec 1, 2025.
  • An interview is required (Traditional Interview, Group Interview).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview · Group Interview

FormatPreparation focus
Traditional InterviewPrepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples.
Group InterviewShow collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2017/03/09. Next review: 2031/10.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated February 6th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history