Elon University
Elon, NC | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | January 2027 |
| Review model | Regular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 2012/09/08 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2027/01 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The Elon University Department of Physician Assistant Studies embraces the overall mission of the University and seeks to fulfill the Departmental vision of “Learning. Caring. Serving. Leading.”
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum science GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.63 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | 3.54 |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
- Chemistry (general) 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Human Anatomy & Human Physiology: one full academic year, Gen Chem with Lab, Additional Chem with Lab, Micro, one upper-level science course (3hrs), psychology (3 credits). |
| Course recency | 10 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | At any point prior to matriculation |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 1 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 1000 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | No Requirement |
| Paid direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | No numeric minimum reported |
| Direct patient-care time limit | No Requirement |
| PA shadowing | Required |
| Physician shadowing | Not Required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Not Required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | Yes |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | Yes |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Aug 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | Yes |
| Supplemental deadline | Aug 15, 2026 |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | PA |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,000 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes |
| On-campus housing | No |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
Elon PA practices holistic admissions review and takes into consideration the science coursework and performance of candidates throughout their academic careers. Candidates respond to short answer response prompts in the application.
Mission alignment
The Elon University Department of Physician Assistant Studies embraces the overall mission of the University and seeks to fulfill the Departmental vision of “Learning. Caring. Serving. Leading.”
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.63 overall and 3.54 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
- No more than 1 prerequisite course may remain outstanding.
- A supplemental application is reported, due Aug 15, 2026.
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: No · Traditional Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2012/09/08. Next review: 2027/01.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated March 16th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |