← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

East Carolina University

Greenville, NC | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length27 months
Class size38 seats
Application deadlineSep 1, 2026
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionResident $53,354 · Non-resident $103,167

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termAugust 2027
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited1996/10/01
Next ARC-PA review2035/10

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The mission of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies is to prepare physician assistant graduates through educational and clinical experiences to improve the health and well-being of patients while increasing access to primary medical care in eastern North Carolina and the state. We seek to achieve this mission in an educational community where faculty, staff, clinical instructors, students, and other health care providers work together in an atmosphere of mutual respect, cooperation, compassion, and commitment.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPANot reported
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.79
Reported matriculant science GPA3.74

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Chemistry (general) 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Genetics 3 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyNot reported
Course recencyNo Requirement
Outstanding-course deadlineNot reported
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceRecommended, but not required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingRecommended but not required
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedYes
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineSep 1, 2026
Reported resident tuition$53,354
Reported non-resident tuition$103,167
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineSep 1, 2026
Supplemental fee$75
Reference letters3
Reference typesNo restrictions
Seat depositYes, $750
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes, with exceptions. Please visit the program's website.
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedNo
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportVeteran scholarships: Scholarship or financial assistance like reduced or in-state tuition offered).;Clinical partnerships: Partnerships with veteran organizations for rotations.;Special admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The mission of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies is to prepare physician assistant graduates through educational and clinical experiences to improve the health and well-being of patients while increasing access to primary medical care in eastern North Carolina and the state. We seek to achieve this mission in an educational community where faculty, staff, clinical instructors, students, and other health care providers work together in an atmosphere of mutual respect, cooperation, compassion, and commitment.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.79 overall and 3.74 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Sep 1, 2026.
  • An interview is required (Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).
  • International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1996/10/01. Next review: 2035/10.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated February 20th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history