D’youville University
Buffalo, NY | Ownership not categorized | MSPAS: Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | May 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Continued |
| First accredited | 1994/10/01 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2029/10 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The mission of the D'Youville Physician Assistant department is to prepare exemplary clinicians with the highest professional standards. Our graduates will be trained to serve diverse patient populations with sensitivity and compassion, coupled with an emphasis on primary care and interprofessional collaboration. We are dedicated to fostering the skills necessary to generate new clinical insights based on medically relevant research. The D'Youville Physician Assistant graduates will be equipped with the skills and knowledge to provide comprehensive care while being an advocate for patient health and wellness promotion.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.00 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | 3.65 |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | Not reported |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Medical Terminology 1 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
- English 6 Credit(s)
- Psychology 3 Credit(s)
- Inorganic Chemistry 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Not reported |
| Course recency | 6 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | At any point prior to matriculation |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | Not reported |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | No, not required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | Not reported |
| Healthcare experience time limit | Not reported |
| Paid direct patient care | Not Required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Required |
| Direct patient-care hours | 120 |
| Direct patient-care time limit | Not reported |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | Yes |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Sep 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | No restrictions |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $750 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | Yes |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Mission alignment
The mission of the D'Youville Physician Assistant department is to prepare exemplary clinicians with the highest professional standards. Our graduates will be trained to serve diverse patient populations with sensitivity and compassion, coupled with an emphasis on primary care and interprofessional collaboration. We are dedicated to fostering the skills necessary to generate new clinical insights based on medically relevant research. The D'Youville Physician Assistant graduates will be equipped with the skills and knowledge to provide comprehensive care while being an advocate for patient health and wellness promotion.
Recent cohort context
Reported matriculant averages were 3.65 overall and not reported science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- At least 120 direct patient-care hours are reported.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 6 Years.
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: No · Group Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Group Interview | Show collaborative leadership through active listening, constructive additions, and space-making rather than dominating the discussion. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 1994/10/01. Next review: 2029/10.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated March 6th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |