CUNY School of Medicine (formerly CCNY Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education)
New York, NY | Ownership not categorized | MSPAS: Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | August 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Campus-based |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | None |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Probation |
| First accredited | 1978/01/01 |
| Next ARC-PA review | 2026/10 |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The mission of The City University of New York School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program is to improve the health of underserved communities and to eliminate healthcare disparity by providing increased access to physician assistant education to students from traditionally underserved populations. Through education and mentoring, we will create a highly skilled workforce that provides primary health services to the communities of greatest need.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.00 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | Not reported |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biology (general) 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
- Microbiology 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Genetics 3 Credit(s)
- Statistics 3 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | All laboratory components must be completed in person. A grade of C or above is required for prerequisite courses. All pending courses must be completed with a grade of B or above |
| Course recency | 7 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | By end of December |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | 2 |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | No, not required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Not reported |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | Not reported |
| Healthcare experience time limit | Not reported |
| Paid direct patient care | Not reported |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | No numeric minimum reported |
| Direct patient-care time limit | Not reported |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Not Required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Dec 1, 2026 |
| Reported resident tuition | $40,000 |
| Reported non-resident tuition | $70,000 |
| Deadline status requirement | Green-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | Employee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor) |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $250 |
| Deposit refundable | No |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | Yes |
| On-campus housing | Yes |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Published Admissions Considerations
Holistic Admissions Review
Mission alignment
The mission of The City University of New York School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program is to improve the health of underserved communities and to eliminate healthcare disparity by providing increased access to physician assistant education to students from traditionally underserved populations. Through education and mentoring, we will create a highly skilled workforce that provides primary health services to the communities of greatest need.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 7 Years.
- No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
- An interview is required (Traditional Interview).
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: Yes · Traditional Interview
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Traditional Interview | Prepare concise answers for motivation, readiness, ethical judgment, and program-specific fit, supported by concrete examples. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Probation. First accreditation: 1978/01/01. Next review: 2026/10.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated January 14th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |