← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Clarkson University

Potsdam, NY | Ownership not categorized | MSPAS: Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length28 months
Class size30 seats
Application deadlineMar 1, 2027
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPA3.00
Reported tuitionTotal $97,713

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termJanuary 2028
Review modelRolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingNone
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2011/09/10
Next ARC-PA review2035/01

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

To prepare skilled, compassionate clinicians who embody Clarkson's values (teamwork, integrity, diversity, service) to meet community healthcare needs, focusing on clinical excellence and holistic care within a technology-rich, interdisciplinary environment

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPA3.00
Minimum science GPA3.00
Minimum prerequisite GPA3.00
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.6
Reported matriculant science GPA3.6

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biology (general) 8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Microbiology 3 Credit(s)
  • Chemistry (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Genetics 3 Credit(s)
  • Statistics 3 Credit(s)
  • Humanities 3 Credit(s)
  • Psychology 3 Credit(s)
  • Social Science 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyNot reported
Course recency10 Years
Outstanding-course deadlineAt any point prior to matriculation
Maximum outstanding prerequisites2

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceYes, required
Paid healthcare experienceRequired
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hours1000
Healthcare experience time limit10 Years
Paid direct patient careRequired
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limit10 Years
PA shadowingRequired
Physician shadowingRecommended but not required
Other-provider shadowingRecommended but not required
Clinical or non-clinical researchRecommended but not required
Virtual healthcare acceptedNo
Virtual shadowing acceptedNo

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineMar 1, 2027
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationNo
Supplemental deadlineNot reported
Supplemental feeNot reported
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor)
Seat depositYes, $500
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredNo
International applicants acceptedYes
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportSpecial admission consideration: Processes that recognize military veterans.;Veteran faculty: Faculty members who have veteran status.;Yellow Ribbon program: Institutional participation in the a university-funded scholarship program for veterans.;Yellow Ribbon Schools program

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

To prepare skilled, compassionate clinicians who embody Clarkson's values (teamwork, integrity, diversity, service) to meet community healthcare needs, focusing on clinical excellence and holistic care within a technology-rich, interdisciplinary environment

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.6 overall and 3.6 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
  • The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.00.
  • Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
  • No more than 2 prerequisite courses may remain outstanding.
  • DACA applicants are not considered under the reported policy.

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: No · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) · Scenario Room

FormatPreparation focus
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.
Scenario RoomPrepare program-specific examples for service, teamwork, clinical maturity, resilience, and ethical reasoning.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2011/09/10. Next review: 2035/01.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated February 12th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history