← All schools
Cycle note. Program-supplied directory information was checked Aug 10, 2026. Requirements can change during an application cycle, so confirm final eligibility and deadlines on the official program site and in CASPA before submitting.

Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine PA Program

Boston, MA | Ownership not categorized | MS: Master of Science

PA program profile · Accreditation-Continued

Program length34 months
Class size30 seats
Application deadlineSep 1, 2026
PCE minimumNo numeric minimum reported
Minimum GPANot reported
Reported tuitionTotal $164,874

Program Snapshot

ItemProgram information
Start termAugust 2027
Review modelRegular - All applications are reviewed once the set deadline has passed
DeliveryCampus-based
Part-time optionNo
TestingCASPer; Test of English Foreign Language (TOEFL)
AccreditationAccreditation-Continued
First accredited2013/09/06
Next ARC-PA review2028/10

Mission and Program Differentiators

Published Mission

The mission of the Boston University School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program is to provide a thorough and innovative education to future physician assistants so that they may go on to provide exceptional care to a diverse population of patients. We are committed to designing a successful model for patient-centered, interprofessional education and practice. We promote professionalism, leadership, and service in our students.

Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.

Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context

ItemProgram information
Minimum overall GPANot reported
Minimum science GPA3.20
Minimum prerequisite GPANot reported
Reported matriculant overall GPA3.76
Reported matriculant science GPA3.69

Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.

Prerequisite Planning

  • Biology (general)3 Credit(s), Lab Required; 3 Upper-Level Biology Courses (300/400 level)
  • Biochemistry 3 Credit(s)
  • Chemistry (general)3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Organic Chemistry 3 Credit(s), Lab Required
  • Human Physiology 3 Credit(s)
ItemProgram information
Additional course policyGeneral Biology or Zoology with lab. Human or Animal Physiology(at 300 or 400 level) Biochem(300 or 400 level). In addition to the above, 3 upper level biology courses at 300 or 400 level.
Course recencyNo Requirement
Outstanding-course deadlineNot reported
Maximum outstanding prerequisitesNot reported

Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.

Clinical Experience and Shadowing

ItemProgram information
Healthcare experienceRecommended, but not required
Paid healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Volunteer healthcare experienceRecommended but not required
Healthcare experience hoursNot reported
Healthcare experience time limitNo Requirement
Paid direct patient careRecommended but not required
Volunteer direct patient careRecommended but not required
Direct patient-care hoursNo numeric minimum reported
Direct patient-care time limitNo Requirement
PA shadowingNot Required
Physician shadowingNot Required
Other-provider shadowingNot Required
Clinical or non-clinical researchNot Required
Virtual healthcare acceptedYes
Virtual shadowing acceptedYes

Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.

Application Mechanics

ItemProgram information
CASPA deadlineSep 1, 2026
Reported resident tuitionNot reported
Reported non-resident tuitionNot reported
Deadline status requirementGreen-Verified: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline, and the application has a verified status, meaning all GPAs have been calculated by CASPA.
Supplemental applicationYes
Supplemental deadlineSep 4, 2026
Supplemental fee$100
Reference letters3
Reference typesEmployee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor)
Seat depositYes, $1,000
Deposit refundableNo

Eligibility and Access Policies

ItemProgram information
Out-of-state applicantsYes
Transfer applicantsNo
DACA applicants consideredYes
International applicants acceptedYes
On-campus housingNo
Veteran supportNot reported

Applicant Fit Analysis

Mission alignment

The mission of the Boston University School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program is to provide a thorough and innovative education to future physician assistants so that they may go on to provide exceptional care to a diverse population of patients. We are committed to designing a successful model for patient-centered, interprofessional education and practice. We promote professionalism, leadership, and service in our students.

Recent cohort context

Reported matriculant averages were 3.76 overall and 3.69 science GPA. These are context, not admission cutoffs.

Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying

  • The reported science GPA floor is 3.20.
  • A supplemental application is reported, due Sep 4, 2026.
  • An interview is required (Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)).

Interview Preparation

Reported requirement: Yes · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)

FormatPreparation focus
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion.

Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.

Accreditation and Outcome Questions

Current status: Accreditation-Continued. First accreditation: 2013/09/06. Next review: 2028/10.

Questions worth answering before enrollment

  • What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
  • What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
  • How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
  • Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
  • What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?

Sources

SourceWhat it supports
Official program websiteCurrent program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions
PAEA program profile (updated February 9th, 2026)Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data
ARC-PA accreditation sourceAccreditation status and review history