Baylor University
Waco, TX | Private | MPAS: Master of Physician Assistant Studies
Program Snapshot
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Start term | September 2027 |
| Review model | Rolling - Applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis |
| Delivery | Distance or hybrid learning reported |
| Part-time option | No |
| Testing | Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) - will not accept MCAT |
| Accreditation | Accreditation-Provisional |
| First accredited | 2025/06/28 |
| Next ARC-PA review | TBD |
Mission and Program Differentiators
Published Mission
The mission of the Baylor University Physician Assistant Program is to educate and prepare compassionate healthcare leaders within a Christian environment through academic excellence, science, and innovation while dedicated to expanding access to health and wellness through team-based, patient-centered medical care.
Use these details only when they genuinely connect to your prior clinical, service, academic, or teamwork record.
Academic Thresholds and Cohort Context
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Minimum overall GPA | 3.00 |
| Minimum science GPA | Not reported |
| Minimum prerequisite GPA | 3.00 |
| Reported matriculant overall GPA | Not reported |
| Reported matriculant science GPA | Not reported |
Interpretation: Minimums are eligibility screens. Matriculant averages describe a recent entering cohort and should not be treated as guarantees or hidden cutoffs.
Prerequisite Planning
- Human Anatomy 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Biology (general)8 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Microbiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Chemistry (general)4 Credit(s)
- Organic Chemistry 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Human Physiology 4 Credit(s), Lab Required
- Statistics 4 Credit(s)
- English 3 Credit(s)
- Psychology 4 Credit(s)
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Additional course policy | Not reported |
| Course recency | 10 Years |
| Outstanding-course deadline | Not reported |
| Maximum outstanding prerequisites | Not reported |
Compare labs, semester or quarter conversion, minimum grades, recency, online-course rules, and completion timing course by course.
Clinical Experience and Shadowing
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Healthcare experience | Yes, required |
| Paid healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer healthcare experience | Recommended but not required |
| Healthcare experience hours | 500 |
| Healthcare experience time limit | Not reported |
| Paid direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Volunteer direct patient care | Recommended but not required |
| Direct patient-care hours | No numeric minimum reported |
| Direct patient-care time limit | Not reported |
| PA shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Physician shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Other-provider shadowing | Recommended but not required |
| Clinical or non-clinical research | Recommended but not required |
| Virtual healthcare accepted | No |
| Virtual shadowing accepted | No |
Strategy: Even when hours are recommended rather than required, describe role scope, patient contact, clinical judgment, teamwork, and what you learned about the PA profession.
Application Mechanics
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| CASPA deadline | Jan 15, 2027 |
| Reported resident tuition | Not reported |
| Reported non-resident tuition | Not reported |
| Deadline status requirement | Orange-Complete only: the application has been submitted, payment, all transcripts, and at least two evaluation letters must be received by CASPA by the posted deadline. |
| Supplemental application | No |
| Supplemental deadline | Not reported |
| Supplemental fee | Not reported |
| Reference letters | 3 |
| Reference types | Employee/Supervisor; PA; Physician; Other health care provider; Academic Reference (e.g. Teacher/Professor or Academic Advisor) |
| Seat deposit | Yes, $1,000 |
| Deposit refundable | Yes, Fully refundable |
Eligibility and Access Policies
| Item | Program information |
|---|---|
| Out-of-state applicants | Yes |
| Transfer applicants | No |
| DACA applicants considered | Yes |
| International applicants accepted | No |
| On-campus housing | No |
| Veteran support | Not reported |
Applicant Fit Analysis
Mission alignment
The mission of the Baylor University Physician Assistant Program is to educate and prepare compassionate healthcare leaders within a Christian environment through academic excellence, science, and innovation while dedicated to expanding access to health and wellness through team-based, patient-centered medical care.
Potential Constraints to Resolve Before Applying
- Rolling review means an application submitted well before the deadline may receive earlier consideration.
- The reported overall GPA floor is 3.00; meeting a floor does not indicate competitiveness.
- Prerequisite recency policy: 10 Years.
- International applicants are not accepted under the reported policy.
Interview Preparation
Reported requirement: No · Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
| Format | Preparation focus |
|---|---|
| Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) | Practice timed ethical, communication, teamwork, and health-system scenarios. Explain the reasoning process, not just the conclusion. |
Interview formats can change. Confirm whether the current cycle is onsite or virtual and whether writing, group, or timed scenario components are included.
Accreditation and Outcome Questions
Current status: Accreditation-Provisional. First accreditation: 2025/06/28. Next review: TBD.
Questions worth answering before enrollment
- What are the latest first-time and ultimate PANCE pass rates, with cohort year and denominator?
- What are the latest graduation and attrition rates?
- How far may students travel or temporarily relocate for clinical rotations, and who bears those costs?
- Are core rotations assigned by the program, and can students be required to secure elective sites?
- What remediation, deceleration, and dismissal policies apply during didactic and clinical training?
Sources
| Source | What it supports |
|---|---|
| Official program website | Current program policies, curriculum, outcomes, and application instructions |
| PAEA program profile (updated January 14th, 2026) | Program-supplied admissions, curriculum, and matriculant data |
| ARC-PA accreditation source | Accreditation status and review history |